Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Institute for Hydromechanics

Research

Fundamental research at the IfH is aimed at an improved understanding of fluid mechanical phenomena in water and air fluid systems. These fluids are investigated in their natural context, in inland and coastal waters, in groundwater, and in the atmosphere as well as in technical systems and structures. Not only the physical aspects of flow behavior are of interest, but also their interactions to chemical, biological and thermal transport processes and associated transformation, and reaction characteristics.

Applied research activities at the IfH include consulting and design studies in civil engineering (applications in hydraulic and aerodynamic engineering), in environmental engineering (waste water processes, air and water quality, groundwater remediation technologies), and in industrial process engineering. Such projects are carried out under contracts from state and communal agencies, consulting companies, and industry.

 

Fields of activity

 
Wirbelablösungen Environmental Fluid Mechanics (EFM)

DNS Result Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)

Trinkwasserspeicher Technical Hydraulics (TH)

Dammdurchsickerung Groundwater (GW)

Lichtschnitt Laboratory of Building- and Environmental Aerodynamics (LGU)

 

 

Research facilities

The research is supported by ample experimental and computer-assisted research facilities.

 

Academic courses

Academic courses are offered by the IfH within the bachelor & master and diploma curriculum in “Civil Engineering” at the KIT. This includes fundamental and applied lecture courses in the area of hydromechanics, technical hydraulics, environmental fluid mechanics, and aerodynamics. Instruction covers the theoretical foundations as well as experimental simulation and computational methods. Applications are offered through practice-oriented examples, special projects and demonstration in the fluid mechanics instructional laboratory.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschung

Hauptziel der Grundlagenforschung am IfH ist ein verbessertes Verständnis von strömungsmechanischen Vorgängen in den Fluiden Wasser und Luft. Sie werden in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung, also in Binnen- und Küstengewässern, im Untergrund bzw. in der Atmosphäre und in technischen Anlagen betrachtet. Zusätzlich zu den rein physikalischen Aspekten des Strömungsverhaltens wird auch die Kopplung zum Wärme- sowie chemischen und biologischen Stofftransport einschließlich der damit verbundenen Umwandlungsprozesse untersucht.

Die angewandte Forschung am IfH befasst sich mit Problemstellungen aus dem Bauingenieurwesen (Anwendungen in Wasserbau und Gebäudeaerodynamik), der Umwelttechnik (Abwasserentsorgung, Wasser- und Luftqualität, Sanierungstechnologien) und dem industriellen Anlagenbau Projekte werden im Auftrag von staatlichen und kommunalen Institutionen, Ingenieurbüros und der Industrie bearbeitet.

Arbeitsgebiete


Wirbelablösungen Misch- und Transportvorgänge (EFM)

DNS Result Numerische Strömungsmechanik (CFD)

Trinkwasserspeicher  Technische Hydraulik (TH)

Dammdurchsickerung Grundwasser (GW)

Lichtschnitt Laboratorium für Gebäude- und Umweltaerodynamik (LGU)

 

Forschungseinrichtungen

Die Forschungen werden untermauert durch umfassende experimentelle und rechnergestützte Forschungseinrichtungen.

 

Studium und Lehre

Im Rahmen des Bachelor-/Master- und Diplomstudiengans "Bauingenieurwesen" und des Masterstudiengangs "Ressources Engineering" umfasst das Lehrangebot des IfH Grundlagen- und Vertiefungsvorlesungen für die Gebiete Hydromechanik, Technische Hydraulik, Umweltströmungsmechanik und Aerodynamik. Dabei werden analytisch-theoretisches Grundlagenwissen sowie experimentelle und numerische Simulations- und Lösungsmethoden vermittelt. Die Anwendungsorientierung ist durch praxisbezogene Aufgabenbeispiele in den Vorlesungen, Studienarbeiten sowie Demonstrationen und Praktika im ströumgsmechanischen Übungslabor gegeben.