Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Environmental Fluid Mechanics (EFM)

This research division is aimed at fluid flow and associated heat and mass transport processes that arise in different types of water bodies (river, lakes, resevoirs, coastal water) covering local and regional scales. The interaction of these flow processes with engineering structures and devices is the first major focus of these studies. The second focus is on their response to anthropogenic heat and mass sources with regard to water quality aspects. Examples of current research projects that utilize a combination of analytical, numerical and experimental methods are:

 

 

 
  • Pollutant dispersion in rivers and river systems with pronounced heterogenetis, such as groynes or run-of-the-river reservoirs, including development of existing pollutant alarm modules used by river authorities.

     

  • Studies of flow instabilities and large-scale coherent structures in shallow flows (wide rivers, coastal regions), including transport and mixing of dissolved and suspended matter.

     

  • Topograpical effects for stratified flows in lakes or reservoirs.
  •  

     

  • Mixing processes for pollutant discharges into water bodies in form of momentum or buoyant jets, including multiport diffuser devices. Development of PC-based expert systems (e.g CORMIX) for the qualitative description and quantitative forecast of mixing intensities for different water bodies.
 
  • Suspended sediment dynamics in river and estuarial systems, including effectof salt stratification and associated contaminant adsorption processes.
 
  • Gas exchange at the air-water interface under the influence of different turbulence generating mechanisms

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Misch- und Transportvorgänge (EFM)

Der Forschungsbereich beschäftigt sich mit Fluidströmungen und den gekoppelten Massen- und Wärmetransportprozessen, die sich in unterschiedlichen Gewässertypen (Flüssen, Seen, Speicher, Küstengewässer) über lokale bzw. regionale Einflußbereiche  hinweg abspielen. Von großem Interesse ist dabei die Wechselwirkung dieser verschiedenen Strömungstypen mit Bauwerken oder Anlagen aus strömungsmechanischer Sicht einerseits und ihre Reaktion auf anthropogene Massen- bzw. Wärmeleitungen im Hinblick auf eine qualitative Beurteilung der Wasserresourcen andererseits. Typische Forschungsaufgaben, bei denen analytische, experimentelle bzw. numerische Methoden eingesetzt werden, sind: 

  EFM-Animation

 

 
  • Schadstoffdispersion in Flußgebieten mit ausgeprägten Inhomogenitäten, wie Buhnenfelder oder Stauräume und Entwicklung von prognostischen Modellelementen zur Verbesserung bestehender Schadstoff-Alarmmodelle.

     

  • Untersuchung von Strömungsinstabinstabilität  und großräumigen kohärenten Strukturen in Flachwasserströmungen im Hinblick auf Transport- und Ausbreitungsverhalten gelöster und suspendierter Stoffe und Wärme.

     

  • Topographische Effekte bei geschichteten Fluidströmungen in Speichern oder Seen.

     

  • Mischprozesse bei Einleitung in Gewässer in Form von Impuls- und Auftriebsstrahlen z.B. mittels Multiport-Diffuser. Entwicklung von PC-gestützten Expertensystemen (u.a CORMIX) zur quantitativen und qualitativen Analyse von Mischvorgängen in verschiedenen Gewässertypen.

     

  • Einfluss von hydrodynamischen Fließbedingungen und Dichtestratifizierung auf die Schwebstoffdynamik in Gewässern.