Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Academic courses

Academic courses are offered by the IfH within the diploma curriculum in “Civil Engineering” at the University of Karlsruhe. This includes fundamental and applied lecture courses in the area of hydromechanics, technical hydraulics, environmental fluid mechanics, and aerodynamics. Instruction covers the theoretical foundations as well as experimental simulation and computational methods. Applications are offered through practice-oriented examples, special projects and demonstration in the fluid mechanics instructional laboratory.

Diploma students in the specialty area “Water and environment” are offered a broad spectrum of experimental and numerical solution methods to selected engineering problems,  in form of diploma thesis projects, often related to ongoing research activities. Multiple contacts and cooperations with foreign institutions provide further opportunities for student exchanges.

Regularly scheduled field trips and multiple-day excursions allow a connection between academic knowldege and practical applications. Tutorials and advising sessions, also over the internet, are offered to the students.

  

Study Information

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Studium und Lehre

Das Lehrangebot des IfH umfasst im Rahmen des Bachelor-/Master- und des Diplomstudiengangs "Bauingenieurwesen" und des Masterstudiengangs "Resources Engineerung" Grundlagen- und Vertiefungsvorlesungen für die Gebiete Hydromechanik, Technische Hydraulik, Umweltströmungsmechanik und Aerodynamik. Dabei werden analytisch-theoretisches Grundlagenwissen sowie experimentelle und numerische Simulations- und Lösungsmethoden vermittelt. Die Anwendungsorientierung ist durch praxisbezogene Aufgabenbeispiele in den Vorlesungen, Studienarbeiten sowie Demonstrationen und Praktika im strömungsmechanischen Übungslabor gegeben.

Ergänzend zu den Vorlesungen stehen für Studierende der Vertiefungsrichtung "Wasser und Umwelt" eine breit gefächerte Anzahl an experimentellen und numerischen Anwendungsbeispielen zu ausgewählten Ingenieurproblemen sowie eine umfangreiche Auswahl an Themen für Vertiefer- und Diplomarbeiten, vielfach im Zusammenhang mit laufenden Forschungsprojekten, zur Verfügung. Zahlreiche Kontakte ins Ausland ermöglichen den Studierenden eine mitarbeit an dortigen Projekten.

Regelmäßig stattfindende ein- und mehrtägige Exkursionen stellen die Verbindung zwischen erworbenem Wissen und praktischer Umsetzung her. Ein umfassendes Leistungs- und Beratungsangebot speziell für Studierende wird im internet aktuell gehalten.  

Infos zum Studium