Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)

Focus of research

  • dynamics of (near-wall) turbulence
  • fluid mechanics of multi-phase flows
  • direct numerical simulation and large eddy simulation
  • specifically designed numerical methods
  • data analysis and physical modeling

Because of the wide range of length and time scales in turbulent flows, direct numerical simulation (DNS) is very demanding in terms of computational resources. This is true for actual simulations as well as for the subsequent data analysis. Therefore, the use of efficient numerical algorithms for massively parallel computing systems is of particular importance.

 

Current topics

DNS of fluid-particle systems 

kugel wasserThe intercation between turbulent flows and solid particles is a question of technological relevance, with a wide range of applications in hydraulics, meteorology, process engineering, energy technologies, bio-medical flows etc. We study fluid-particle systems by means of direct numerical simulation with fully resolved phase boundaries. The aim is to analyze processes such as the formation of particle agglomerations and the enhancement /attenuation of turbulence intensity. In the long run, our object is to contribute to an improvement of commonly used engineering models for multiphase flow.

Photo: M. Tischmacher

 

Dynamics of coherent structures

An understanding of fundamental dynamic processes in turbulent flows is essential in determining scaling laws and can be understood as a prerequesite for technological applications. As an example, detailed knowledge of the regeneration mechanism of turbulent near-wall structures can inspire strategies for boundary layer control.

One of the phenomena studied in our group is the generation of secondary flow in a square duct due to coherent structures. Another topic of interest is the analysis of turbulent flows with stratification, which are of great importance to geo-physical applications (e.g. ocean currents). For stable stratification there is a competition between damping buoyant forces and the intrinsic instability of the shear flow.

 

LES of complex flows

Large Eddy Simulation (LES) is very suitable for the calculation of turbulent flows in cases where no direct simulation is possible because of geometrical complexity and/or high Reynolds numbers. This applies in particular to cases with unsteady flow separation where purely statistical models typically do not provide accurate predictions.

 

Data of the numerical simulations is available here after peer-review.

 

 

The group Turbulent Flows is member in the Germean research association Scientific Computing Baden-Wuerttemberg (WiR Ba-Wue).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Numerische Strömungsmechanik (CFD)

Arbeitsschwerpunkte

  • Dynamik (wandnaher) turbulenter Strömungen
  • Fluidmechanik mehrphasiger Strömungen
  • Direkte numerische Simulation und Grobstruktursimulation
  • Maßgeschneiderte numerische Verfahren
  • Datenanalyse und physikalische Modellierung

Aufgrund des breiten Spektrums der Längen- und Zeitskalen in turbulenten Strömungen, stellen Direktsimulationen (DNS) extrem hohe Anforderungen an die Rechenleistung, sowohl in der eigentlichen Simualtionsphase als auch bei der Datenanalyse. Eine besondere Bedeutung kommt daher der Effizienz der Numerik auf massiv parallelen Rechnersystemen zu.  

 

Laufende Forschung

DNS von Fluid-Partikel Systemen

kwVon technologischer Bedeutung ist die Fragestellung nach der Interaktion zwischen turbulenter Fluid- strömung und festen Partikeln, mit weitreichenden Anwendungen etwa in der Hydrologie, Meteorologie, Verfahrens- und Energietechnik. Wir untersuchen Fluid-Partikel Systeme mittels Direktsimulation, wobei die Phasengrenzen durch das Gitter aufgelöst werden. Ziel ist es, Prozesse wie die Bildung von Partikel- agglomerationen und Anfachung/Dämpfung der Turbulenzintensität zu analysieren und darauf aufbauend, Verbesserungen der gängigen Eulerschen bzw. Lagrangeschen Modelle vorzuschlagen. Neben dem Fall von Suspensionen im vertikalen Kanal analysieren wir u.a. den Mechanismus der Erosion von Sedimentpartikeln

Bild: M.Tischmacher 

 

Dynamik kohärenter Strukturen

Ein Verständnis der fundamentalen dynamischen Prozesse in turbulenten Strömungen kann dazu beitragen, Skalierungsgesetze zu formulieren und Empfehlungen für Anwendungen zu erstellen (z.B. Regenerationsmechanismus wandnaher Strukturen -> Grenzschichtkontrolle). Wir untersuchen u.a. die Rolle kohärenter Strukturen bei der Ausbildung der Sekundärströmung in einem Kanal mit rechteckigem Querschnitt.

Ein weiteres Thema ist die Analyse turbulenter Strömungen mit Dichtegradienten, welche insbesondere für Geophysikalische Anwendungen von Bedeutung sind (Ozeanströmungen). Bei stabiler Schichtung kommt es zu einem Wettbewerb zwischen dämpfenden Auftriebseffekten und der Instabilität der Scherströmung.

 

LES komplexer Strömungen

Die Methode der Grobstruktursimulation (LES) ist sehr gut zur Berechnung von turbulenten Strömungen geeignet, bei denen aufgrund der Komplexität keine Direktsimulation möglich ist. Dies gilt insbesondere für Fälle mit instationärer Ablösung, in denen statistische Modelle typischerweise keine präzisen Vorhersagen liefern. 

 

Daten der numerischen Simulationen sind nach wissenschaftlicher Publikation hier verfügbar.

 

Die Abteilung Turbulente Strömungen ist Mitglied im Forschungsverbund Wissenschaftliches Rechnen Baden-Württemberg (WiR Ba-Wü).